Skip to content ↓


Our approach to the curriculum

At Abbey Woods, we aim to provide a rich and engaging curriculum that meets the needs of the children in our community. We aim to motivate and inspire children through a curriculum that engages and challenges all learners.

Our curriculum is designed to deepen knowledge and develop skills, ensuring effective progression within each subject and across all year groups. Our values, alongside our school mission statement, 'growing together, learning for life', are at the heart of our curriculum and all that we do.

We follow National Curriculum guidance and ensure that this underpins all curriculum design and provision. We further enrich our curriculum through exciting learning experiences, workshops and trips.

In primary schools, learning is organised into three phases:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS): Ages 3 – 5 (Nursery and Reception)
  • Key Stage 1: Ages 5 – 7 (Years 1 and 2)
  • Key Stage 2: Ages 7 – 11 (Years 3 – 6)

We follow the early years framework in EYFS and the national curriculum in KS1 and KS2. Areas of learning and development included in each phase are described below. All schools are also required to teach religious education.

Early Years Foundation Stage Key Stages 1 and 2
Communcation and language English
Physical development Mathematics
Personal, social and emotional development Science
Literacy Art and design
Mathematics Computing
Understanding the world Design and technology
Expressive arts and design French (KS2)
  Physical education